Posted on


The Strategic Alliance of Catholic Research Universities (SACRU) is the worldwide network of research-oriented Catholic universities.

The network is made up of Catholic universities committed to excellence in teaching and research and to global and engaged collaboration, all with a strong social commitment informed by the Catholic social teaching. Its mission is to foster collaboration among partners to advance knowledge and higher education in the world for the common good.

Eight of the world’s leading universities are members: Australian Catholic University (Australia), Boston College (USA), Pontificia Universidade Católica de Chile (Chile), Pontificia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro (Brazil), Sophia University (Japan), Universidade Católica Portuguesa (Portugal), Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore (Italy) and Universitat Ramon Llull (Spain).

SACRU identifies six lines of priority:

  1. Reinforce the link between faith and reason in the digital age
  2. Enhance Research for the Common Good
  3. Promote Global Education
  4. Develop Digital Transformation
  5. Accelerate Interdisciplinarity in Education and Research
  6. Contribute to Knowledge and Technological Transfer

The network is present in 31 locations, with 10077 teaching staff, 13399 administrative staff, 218483 students, 455 Bachelor programmes, 453 Master programmes and 168 PhD programmes.

The SACRU alliance is a collaborative effort to contribute to the betterment of the world through research and the personality of our university model.

Related news 

We participated in a SACRU webinar on populism and truths in the media

Míriam Díez as testimonial at the SACRU webinar